The Word is Alive


As a teacher of the Bible it’s important to remember that the things I study and teach are more than just principles but they are truth.  They are absolute truth.  So often I teach the concept that when we are in need of a word from God the number 1 way to hear from Him is to crack open the Bible and allow Him to pour into us.  Last night I faced a moment when I needed to practice what I preached.

At 3:30am I was awoken, and I mean wide awake.  I couldn’t go back to sleep. My mind was traveling a thousand miles a minute and I couldn’t focus on any one thought.  I was struggling with everything from how I can fulfill my calling and what areas of ministry I really need to be focusing on, all the way to  the other side of the spectrum completely.  I knew that I needed to get up and get into God’s word.  I knew He had something for me.  I was praying and telling God that I trusted Him completely but I really needed to convince myself that was true.  I was worrying too much to truly be trusting Him.

I usually seek human counsel. The Bible even tells that there is wisdom in counsel. This time however, I was determined that God was going to handle it.  My mind was fighting my heart.  My mind said to send emails to those who could possibly fix the problems that I was struggling with, but my heart said that God would handle it. I was worried. I wanted to trust, but I was proving by my internal battle that I just wasn’t trusting Him completely.

Matthew 6:27-29

Can all your worries add a single moment to your life? And why worry about your clothing? Look at the lilies of the field and how they grow. They don’t work or make their clothing, yet Solomon in all his glory was not dressed as beautifully as they are.

So why couldn’t I sleep?  I just needed a word from Him.  I got up and sat in my chair in the living room. Trying not to wake my wife who is a brand new mother, I chose not to turn on any lights in the house. So I grabbed my computer and opened it up.  As with most people this day and age my homepage is Facebook.  My intent was to open a bible app or website and get into God’s word but I got distracted by Facebook (or the enemy as I like to call it, LOL). What’s amazing is how God still had His way even in my distraction and rebellion.  I scrolled down a little bit to see what other people were doing at 3:30am and came across a picture of a friends bible with underlined words and asterisks – the works.  It was an unbelievably familiar verse but was yet another reminder of how simply God can bring your whole life into focus with one familiar passage of scripture.

Philippians 4:6

Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God.

As I was humbled by God knowing where I was at, both spiritually, emotionally and physically (on Facebook) I was then reminded of the word my pastor had preached just hours before. He presented another familiar scripture, one of my favorites:

Hebrews 4:12-13

For the word of God is alive and powerful sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing to the division of soul and of spirit, of joints and of marrow, and discerning the thoughts and intentions of the heart. And no creature is hidden from his sight, but all are naked and exposed to the eyes of him to whom we must give account.

The gentle reminder that He is in absolute control and is fully aware of my condition was enough to allow me to go back to bed. Remember, worrying has never paid a single bill.  Worrying has never landed anyone a promotion.  Worrying has never brought a loved one home.  Worrying has never done a thing other than spread like a cancer through our lives.  Worry is the opposite of trust.  When you trust in the Lord with ALL of your heart there’s no room for worry.

One Comment Add yours

  1. chad says:

    Great insight. I have many of those nights u speak of. It is amazing how just a little time in the word in the late nights or early mornings can bring a peace that can not be explained. So glad u guys are doing well and are happy out there. Miss u guys!

Leave a Reply

