Expecting the Ridiculous


Elisha - Ax-head2 Kings chapter 6 holds within it, quite possibly the most insanely ridiculous prayer anyone has ever prayed.  Here– read it yourself.

So he went with them. And when they came to the Jordan, they cut down trees.  But as one was felling a log, his axe head fell into the water, and he cried out, “Alas, my master! It was borrowed.”  Then the man of God said, “Where did it fall?” When he showed him the place, he cut off a stick and threw it in there and made the iron float.  And he said, “Take it up.” So he reached out his hand and took it. 2 Kings 6:4-7

 

Are you kidding me?  All the tragedies the world is facing, all the horror, and the world’s most renowned prophet, Elisha, asks God for this? Surely, there’s a man dying of some chronic illness close-by.  There’s a family losing their house or car.  There’s someone being falsely accused of some crime.  And Elisha wastes a prayer on a missing axe-head? Why not?

Did you know that God isn’t running out of miracle working power any time soon (ever)?  God doesn’t perform one miracle, or answer one prayer at the expense of another.  He answers them all, simultaneously, without even breaking a sweat.  Think about the miracle of creation.  God didn’t create each individual animal (at least I don’t think He did), He created many things all at once.  He’s good like that.  Oh, and guess what?  He cares about the dumb, little things too; like making a broken axe-head float in the river!

When was the last time you prayed a ridiculous prayer?  Maybe you never have. Maybe you’ve lived your whole life thinking that God only cares about life-or-death situations?

 

 For everyone who asks receives, and the one who seeks finds, and to the one who knocks it will be opened.  What father among you, if his son asks for a fish, will instead of a fish give him a serpent;  or if he asks for an egg, will give him a scorpion?  If you then, who are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will the heavenly Father give the Holy Spirit to those who ask him!” Luke 11:7-13

 

God likens Himself to a good father.  The truth is, He is the best Father.  No one even comes close.  Not even in the same multiverse  (literally).  When we ask God for something that is important to us, it is important to Him.  Who knows why this man was so upset about the axe-head.  We know it was borrowed.  Was it that he couldn’t afford to replace it?  If so, we know God cares about our finances.  Was it because he was afraid of losing integrity with the owner?  If so, we know God cares about our relationships.  Maybe he really needed to finish building the house he was working on.  This tells me of God’s concern for our comfort.

God cares more about our heart and character than anything else, but He still cares about anything else.  There was a point at which my wife and I were really struggling and we received a financial gift that really changed our situation.  We were telling a relative about it and they said, “You don’t really think that was God do you?  He doesn’t care about your finances!”  I felt like replying, “then why does He talk about it 140 times in 250 verses??

See: http://christianpf.com/money-in-the-bible/ 

I want to challenge you this week to pray a ridiculous prayer.  Maybe you don’t need cast-iron to float.  But, I’m sure there’s something that you could really use divine intervention with.  When God answers your prayer (and He will!) please leave a comment with the praise report to encourage the other readers.

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Sigga says:

    I have had so many ridiculous prayers answered its ridiculous. God loves to show you in little things how much he cares. Once when I was in Iceland, I was walking to my home and told God, I would really love to see the Northern Lights right now. I looked into the sky at that moment and behold, the Northern Lights were so close I felt I could touch them. I was beaming with happiness because I thought to myself, “My God is ridiculously in love with me.”

    1. It’s amazing how much God cares about our happiness.

  2. Anon says:

    The man’s statement about the axe being borrowed implies that he placed more value on it because it was loaned out of someone else’s generosity. He wouldn’t have cared as much if it was his own axe. A lost axe may seem trivial to us, but a good heart is not trivial to God.

    God answers prayers of all kinds. In fact, today he answered a prayer that I hadn’t even prayed, but make no mistake about it: God knew exactly what I was in need of most today and he gave it to me.

    For reasons I can’t disclose at the moment, I have not been able to speak with my children for nearly three months. Given that our relationships have always been wonderfully loving and close, this has been a hard cross for me to bear. I can only imagine it’s been that way for my kids as well, but I have no way of even inquiring about how they feel. My attorney actually said that since they haven’t tried to call me, he assumes that their thoughts about me may have soured. I don’t believe that of course, but every now and then I have to wonder. Today was one of those times.

    I was having a very hard time, missing my children and wondering what they’re thinking about me. Out of the blue, I received the following text message from my daughter, the first communication I’ve received from any of them since February:

    “I know you probably won’t see this, and if you do, you are probably not allowed to respond, but I love you. I miss you so much. It’s so hard not being able to see you.”

    Wow, did I need that!

    It brings to mind the following verse: “Humble yourselves, therefore, under God’s mighty hand, that he may lift you up in due time. Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.” 1 Peter 5:6-7

Leave a Reply

