Night is Coming and Hell is Hot


Acts 19:8-10 And he went into the synagogue and spoke boldly for three months, reasoning and persuading concerning the things of the kingdom of God. But when some were hardened and did not believe, but spoke evil of the Way before the multitude, he departed from them and withdrew the disciples, reasoning daily in the school of Tyrannus. And this continued for two years, so that all who dwelt in Asia heard the word of the Lord Jesus, both Jews and Greeks.

Well, did you catch that? After two years and three months the entire continent of Asia had heard the gospel. It confounds me that there are still those here in America that think the Bible is about cavemen. True story, by the way.

We have good friends who are on fire for Jesus. They tell everyone. Recently, they ministered to a couple who work at goodwill and are going through some things. They brought them to church, even offered them a place to stay at their house while some roommate issues got worked out.

Yesterday, my wife asked why we don’t talk to goodwill employees about Jesus. I gave some cock and bull story (if I can quote mother goose) about pastors and evangelists and missionaries. I don’t know , something silly and pointless. The truth is; I used to. There was a time when I was willing to talk to anyone who was willing to listen. Then I got caught up in preaching, teaching and ministering to the ones God brought into our ministry and lost focus.

Does this sound like you? I am not claiming that pastors shouldn’t concentrate their efforts on their flock, because that is what they are called to do. However, it is easy for men in this position to treat pastoring as their job and then any other time of day as their “off time”.

Christians, hear me… We have no off time. Night is coming and hell is hot. If Paul and a select few can evangelize an entire continent in two years, what can you and your church do in your city? State? Country?

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Tina McLendon says:

    Well Steve, for one thing you know, really ….no one wants to hear about that whole hell thing. How dare you yank us out of our comfort zone. Why, aren’t we just supposed to wind ourselves up, go to work, do family stuff, church on Sunday and start over again on Monday? Are you saying we ought to actually be out there RE-Presenting Christ because we are His body. (like arms and feet?)
    What about the IMPORTANT things like taking the dog to the vet? Buying groceries? Pedicure? Watching lots of TV so I don’t have time to read blogs like this that make me feel apprehensive about the future. oh…..and picking up my blood pressure medicine from Walgreens.
    Dang it Steve, what’s this all about? Are you saying we should re-evaluate our priorities?
    That maybe we ought to think about putting our needs aside sometimes so others can be served, even in our daily walk in the Goodwill Store?

    Thanks so much for this voice of reason. I love it when someone tags me right where I am. I’ve gotten so “busy” that I am meeting myself coming and going and when I do that I am not doing well. This is good reflection time to help me to know I am off track and I need to make some adjustments in order to get back into a routine that is better for me because God should be directing my path, not me.

    Be careful at the Goodwill on Cherry Lane….I have talked to those people about Jesus and there is one lady in there who will take you to a Holy Ghost Pentecostal Revival meeting on a given Friday night to a little church not far from there and no telling what can happen in there. It was great…..

    I know “works” doesn’t get us into heaven, but I don’t want to show up there without something in my account. The crowns….that is what I am after….I want those crowns….and for Him to look into my eyes and tell me that my job was very well done.

    1. Hi Tina,

      Thanks for taking the time to reply to this thread. How have you been moving forward in this challenge? “Faith without works is dead” – I desperately don’t want my faith to be perceived as dead by God, and I know you feel the same way. Have you had an opportunity to step out of your comfort zone this past week? If so I’d love to hear about it!

Leave a Reply

