Nothing worth doing is easy.


We just made a 1400 mile trip to our new home in Texas.  Nothing worth doing is easy.  I’ve lived in Florida my entire life (except the first two years) and I’ve always wanted to leave.  I dislike Florida very much.  I don’t like the heat all year, or the beach, or the mosquitos, or just about anything.  I miss my family and friends – but I know this was worth doing.  I’ve lived my life with the idea that anything worth doing won’t come easy, and it’s usually true.

I’ll admit, deep down inside I thought moving would fix everything that was wrong with my life… it wasn’t this thought that was the catalyst to move us, but it was definitely a secret hope.  My wife has been experiencing health issues for more than a year – I figured the healing would be in the transition.  Our house in Florida was always a mess… it still is.  We never seemed to have time to catch up, we still don’t.  Finding alone time with God was difficult, it still is.  But remember, nothing worth doing is easy.

When we got to TX, the house we had rented long distance was in uninhabitable conditions.  The smell of smoke was so strong that it was causing us to not be able to breathe.  Thank God we had friends here, who are now more like family, who let us stay with them.  We had our two dogs and two cats along with my wife and I living in a 1000sq ft house with our friends John and Sandy and their two kids, dog and fish.  We had about 15 living creatures under that roof… and I don’t regret a minute of it. We grew close.  It was great.  Throughout the process it was clear; nothing worth doing is easy.

Driving down the bumpy, poorly tarred streets of Texas we lost a sway bar bracket on the truck.  Now it’s banging around, shaking and rattling.  But God is still in control.

Finally, after two weeks we found a place of our own.  We moved all of our belongings for the second time in one month to our new house… eleven doors down.  It was hot, both days.  God supplied friends and vehicles to make the move doable – but not easy.  So, praise God we are in our own house!  Day 3, the dryer breaks.  No laundry for 2 weeks.  Praise God the landlord is a great man and fixed the dryer.

Then we decide we just can’t live without a dishwasher… it surely wasn’t helping our mutual disdain for washing dishes.  So, again our landlord steps up and helps us install a dishwasher.  He took care of all the plumbing and moved the washing machine out of the kitchen into the garage, we supplied the dishwasher.  $100 later, we have a dishwasher from Craigslist that “Half-works”.

Last night I decided I would make our own laundry soap – pinterest will be hearing from my lawyer.  No one mentioned that when you add baking soda the whole thing erupts all over the place.  I spent 4 hours dismantling our stove trying to figure out why it wouldn’t light.  Never did figure it out.  We cleaned up a flooded kitchen and went to bed.

What is the point of this ranting?  The point is that when things are going this bad – God has to be up to something.  The Bible tells us in 2 Corinthians 12:9

“My grace is all you need. My power works best in weakness.” So now I am glad to boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ can work through me.

This excites me.  As a believer we are bombarded with the question of why bad things happen to good people.  The truth is, there’s no such thing as a “good person!”  None of us is good, you’re evil, I’m evil, we are all evil!

So Jesus said to him, “Why do you call Me good? No one is good but One, that is, God. – Luke 18:19

The only “good” person to ever walk this earth was Jesus, and Jesus suffered GREAT things.  Imagine being God; sinless, pure, holy – and beaten to death.  Jesus walked around healing people, forgiving sins, preaching and teaching love.  He literally rescued people from death (see John 8:7) and what was His earthly reward?  Scourging, beatings – He died, bloody, unrecognizable as a human being; holes in his hands, feet, side.  Ridiculed, mocked and spit on by those who He created, who He formed in the womb – by men and women He loved dearly.  That wasn’t the end of the story though.  He was raised from the dead and ascended into heaven Thank God for that part of the story or we’d all be lost.

In Luke 24, Jesus is caught up into heaven in front of His disciples where He is seated at the right hand of God.  Do you know that our inheritance is the same as Jesus’?  Your destiny is to be seated in heavenly places.  You ALREADY are seated in heavenly places.

Ephesians 2:4-6 But God, being rich in mercy, because of His great love with which He loved us, even when we were dead in our transgressions, made us alive together with Christ ( by grace you have been saved), and raised us up with Him, and seated us with Him in the heavenly places in Christ Jesus

It is vital to remember our inheritance.  Nothing worth doing is easy, but living with our heavenly home in focus’ will help put things into perspective.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Jay says:

    You know I read this as soon as it comes in my inbox. Amazing stuff bro, a friend of Katrina came up to me in church and read me that same verse from Corinthians. Pretty cool dude. Love you man and miss you A LOT

    1. I miss you too man. Can’t believe it’s been so long. Gotta Skype soon. Text me at some point soon!

Leave a Reply

