Hypocritical Christianity.


In a world so filled with hypocrisy how will the world know you are for real?  First, let’s look at the word hypocrisy.  The greek translation of the english word Hypocrisy means “to wear a mask”.  How do you keep non-christians from being able to call you a hypocrite?  It’s really quite simple.  When I became a Christian, I did the same thing just about any of you did;  I had to raise my hand in a crowded room and proclaim in front of every one of them that I am a sinner in need of forgiveness.  If I admit that I am a sinner, in need of Christ’s redemption, then by sinning or messing up, I am not being hypocritical, I am being consistent.  I have already admitted I had a problem.

Take the addict as an example.  If I went to an AA meeting and said, “My name is Steve and I’m an alcoholic,” and then went and had a drink, no one would say, “You hypocrite!”.  They would realize that I just admitted to this problem and probably offer to help me. In the same way, as Christians, we need to make our vices known, so that we in no way misrepresent ourselves as perfect.  I am not perfect!  I mess up on a daily basis.  I say words I shouldn’t say.  I think thoughts I shouldn’t think.  I do things I shouldn’t do.  I am a sinner, and I need Jesus, daily.  When I tell someone they shouldn’t do something because they are a Christian, that doesn’t mean I don’t do those things from time to time… it means I recognize that we, as Christians, shouldn’t be doing it.  We then ask for forgiveness and try not to do it again.

The hypocrite is the pretender.  The one who says, “Christians don’t swear.  I’m a Christian. I don’t swear.”  But, then swears anyway.  Or; “I am a Christian, I don’t watch R rated movies.”  But, then watches them anyway.  That is a hypocrite friends… one who claims one thing and does another.  A hypocrite is one who hides behind a mask, or a false face.

I am not a hypocrite. I mess up.  I make mistakes.  Are you a hypocrite?  Make it well known that you are aware of your sin problem and that you are prone to screwing up.  If someone then calls you a hypocrite, remind them of the time that you admitted to your vices.

Jesus died for me.  He died because I am a wretched, sinful, meager, vile, disgusting human being in need of redemption.  Without His grace and mercy everyday I’d have no choice but to suffer eternally.  I can not even begin to strive for perfection – it could never come, save by Jesus Christ.

Leave a Reply

