Callicoon, NY


So, we are here in Callicoon, NY (Callicoon means turkey in dutch.  Named so because of all the wild turkey).  What a beautiful place that God made.  We had the pleasure of hiking some 2 miles or so up a foothill on a hike called the ledges.  From the top we could see the whole valley expanse and admire God’s handiwork from that vantage point.

To be fully honest with everyone reading, I have quite a difficult time enjoying nature.  On the drive up here, my wife asked me if I saw something on the side of the road.  I said, no.  She then preceded to scold me for not seeing nature.  (Scold is a harsh word).  She asked if I was blind, or what I was looking at.  I told her that I had been staring at a logo on the side of a semi-truck for the last hour.  I see man-made art.  I’m just built that way. I’m a designer.

Being from Florida, when I think of outdoors I think of gross weather, humid, nasty, sticky, wet, weather.  I also think of mosquitos, alligators, lizards, frogs (maaaaan I hate frogs LOL) and every other disgusting thing that I don’t like to experience in the Florida outdoors.  So, really, for me to enjoy nature I have to step outside of my pre-conceived notions of what the outdoors are.  This, however, was absolutely breath taking.  It was awesome.

Its fall here in N.Y./P.A. and that means rich, beautiful colors.  We’ve had a great time.  My challenge to all of you this week is to step away from your hectic, busy life and find something that God created to marvel over.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Vanessa says:

    Oh I bet its beautiful. The one thing we miss by living deep in the swamp is the changing of the seasons. Here it goes from green to dead. Glad you guys are enjoying your vacation. Be safe and God Bless!

Leave a Reply

