Prayer. What’s The Deal?


Today’s blog is written to myself as much as to anyone else.  It deals with something we as Christians take for granted.  It deals with something every other religion in the world gives utmost value to.  It deals with prayer.

From the ever-on-our-lips, empty promise of “I’ll be praying for you,” to the thirty second wonder prayer before a meal.  Prayer is such a powerful thing and we aren’t utilizing it.  Many religions have certain times of the day set aside for ritualistic bowing and reciting.  Other’s require prayer for penance.  We are the only group of people who are praying to a living, breathing, all powerful, loving, caring, amazing God, and most of us can’t find 5 minutes a day for Him.

What is wrong with this picture?  I believe I’ve figured out the top 5 reasons Christians don’t pray.  See if you fall into any of these categories.

 

1.  They feel no need to pray: Perhaps you are self-sufficient, multitalented and have become an excellent manager of your time. You have money, cars, overall a great life.  God fits into your well organized schedule on Sundays as you go to church and also at the moment that any of life’s crises may come upon you. However all these great talents and worldly management skills will ultimately have limited ability without a strong relationship with the Lord Jesus.

 

2. They don’t have the time to pray: IF YOU ARE TOO BUSY TO PRAY – YOU ARE TOO BUSY! Your time is God given, as well as every breath that you take. It is in God’s hands. Time should be tithed just as your money. If you take time to talk to your Father, He will literally multiply your time back to you. He will set your daily priorities and give you back more time than you can possibly imagine.

 

3. They don’t want to get up early to pray: Many Christians reject the idea of early morning prayer. Comments are frequent that “it’s too hard.” We all agree it’s very convenient to the flesh, but the Spirit soars to new heights. It doesn’t come easy, it takes commitment and dedication. The rewards are worth the effort!  Furthermore, not everyone needs to wake up early to pray.  There is no commandment regarding the time of day you pray.  Many people think that the sacrifice it takes to get up early is what God desires.  This is a ritualistic, holier-than-thou attitude that encourages the idea that you are doing something better than someone else.  Night time works,  car rides work,  shower time works.  Whatever works for you and God.

 

4.  They don’t know how to pray:  Something the church has failed in as of late is teaching others to pray.  There is no shame in not knowing how to pray.  The disciples asked Christ how to pray.  His response was the Lord’s Prayer.  This wasn’t meant to be something we recite, it was meant to be a guideline.   God wants you to be personal.

 

The first part, “Our Father who art in Heaven,” let’s simplify.  Dear God.  Hello Jesus.  Good Morning Lord.  This is a salutation.  “Hallowed be thy name,” or You are so Holy.  You are awesome.  God you are incredible!  This is praise, adoration.  These are words of worship and honor.  “Thy Kingdom come, thy will be done on earth as it is in heaven.”  We want your will here God!  We don’t know better than you, you know all things.  We want what is best for this day, for this hour for this minute.  We want YOUR best here.  Just like heaven is perfect, we want that here on earth.  “Give us this day our daily bread.”  Here are the things I need for today.  Not the next week or the next year. God is concerned with our day to day.  Tomorrow isn’t promised to us, why waste our time on it?  Deal with tomorrow when tomorrow comes.  This is the point where you tell God your daily needs.  Don’t misunderstand, there is a time for intercession regarding your home, finances, government etc.  But Jesus was teaching us how to care for today.  “Forgive us our sins as we forgive those who sin against us.”  This is simple.  God forgive me, I’m a sinner.  I’ve made some mistakes since the last time we talked and I want them to be forgotten, please.  In response to your forgiving me, I forgive anyone who has sinned against me.  I don’t care what they’ve done.  I may have every right to be upset, but I won’t be.  I forgive them, since you forgive me.  “Lead us not into temptation but deliver us from evil.”  Watch my steps today.  Please, don’t let me walk where I ought not walk.  Keep me away from evil things.  Don’t allow me to be tempted by the Devil.  “For yours is the kingdom, power and the glory forever, Amen.”  Again, worshipping God.  Telling Him who He is and what He owns right to.  Everything!

Let’s honor God with our time.  Give Him what He deserves.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Vanessa says:

    I love your break down of The Lords Prayer. I wonder how many have prayed that prayer daily and never made it personal. God wakes me just about every morning 15 minutes before my alarm goes off. I used to get really mad cause everyone knows the last few minutes of sleep is the best, that is until I realized what that time was meant to be used for. Now I look forward to it!

Leave a Reply

