Rest In The Thought That God Loves You


I don’t plan to ever know God’s intent.  The old saying “God works in mysterious ways,” although not found in the Bible can be merited as true.  I’ll never fully understand why good people experience bad things.  I’ll never know why bad people end up rich and famous with all the world has to offer at their fingertips.  We will never comprehend natural disaster or personal tragedy.  But we can find assurance in God’s love for us.

When I look at people who are without Christ who are going through similar situations that I am I wonder how they do it without the knowledge that Jesus loves them and He is in control.  Romans 8:28 says, “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.”  Are all things good?  No.  Do all things work out for the good of those who love God?  Yes.  It can also be said that all things work together for the good of those who know that God loves them.

In the end our love is incapable.  We can never outlove God.  We will never be able to say that we love anyone or anything unconditionally.  I love my wife more than I know how to express, but at the same time if she were to cheat on me, ask for a divorce, kill my dog, sell my cat, and break all of my stuff, would I still love her in the fashion that I currently do?  Would I be able to still love her at all?  Or would I see her as a monster who is unworthy of my love?   I rest soundly on the fact that I know she loves ME so much that she wouldn’t do these things.  That’s where the true power is. I don’t solely keep my eyes off of other women because I love my wife.  I do it because she loves me.  Despite my shortcomings and faults, she loves me, and I can’t spit on that love.

In the same manner, I don’t stray from sin because I love God… No, no… I keep from sin because I know God loves me and I don’t want to disappoint someone who loves me.

We should find rest in the fact that God loves us unconditionally.  No matter how many times we spit in His face and do Him wrong, He loves us the same.  He knows my innermost thoughts, yet His love never fails.

Trust God today that no matter what happens in your life He loves you and He has a plan.  Sickness, poverty, disease, tragedy, financial strife – any or all of these things may be plaguing your life – but He has a plan.

I’m reminded of the man Philippe Croizon, a quadruple amputee who swam across the English Channel.  He also plans to cross the Strait of Gibraltar.  This man has suffered a great tragedy.  He was electrocuted while adjusting the antenna for his television and doctors required all four limbs to be removed.  In the face of adversity he used this disability as encouragement to do something extraordinary.  I don’t know whether he credits God or gives Him glory – but you can.

Take what the devil meant for harm and make it good!  Walk through your battle with your bloody, bruised and battered head held high, knowing fully that God is God.

Proverbs 23

1 When you sit to dine with a ruler,
note well what is before you,

2 and put a knife to your throat
if you are given to gluttony.

3 Do not crave his delicacies,
for that food is deceptive.

4 Do not wear yourself out to get rich;
have the wisdom to show restraint.

5 Cast but a glance at riches, and they are gone,
for they will surely sprout wings
and fly off to the sky like an eagle.

6 Do not eat the food of a stingy man,
do not crave his delicacies;

7 for he is the kind of man
who is always thinking about the cost.
“Eat and drink,” he says to you,
but his heart is not with you.

8 You will vomit up the little you have eaten
and will have wasted your compliments.

9 Do not speak to a fool,
for he will scorn the wisdom of your words.

10 Do not move an ancient boundary stone
or encroach on the fields of the fatherless,

11 for their Defender is strong;
he will take up their case against you.

12 Apply your heart to instruction
and your ears to words of knowledge.

13 Do not withhold discipline from a child;
if you punish him with the rod, he will not die.

14 Punish him with the rod
and save his soul from death.

15 My son, if your heart is wise,
then my heart will be glad;

16 my inmost being will rejoice
when your lips speak what is right.

17 Do not let your heart envy sinners,
but always be zealous for the fear of the LORD.

18 There is surely a future hope for you,
and your hope will not be cut off.

19 Listen, my son, and be wise,
and keep your heart on the right path.

20 Do not join those who drink too much wine
or gorge themselves on meat,

21 for drunkards and gluttons become poor,
and drowsiness clothes them in rags.

22 Listen to your father, who gave you life,
and do not despise your mother when she is old.

23 Buy the truth and do not sell it;
get wisdom, discipline and understanding.

24 The father of a righteous man has great joy;
he who has a wise son delights in him.

25 May your father and mother be glad;
may she who gave you birth rejoice!

26 My son, give me your heart
and let your eyes keep to my ways,

27 for a prostitute is a deep pit
and a wayward wife is a narrow well.

28 Like a bandit she lies in wait,
and multiplies the unfaithful among men.

29 Who has woe? Who has sorrow?
Who has strife? Who has complaints?
Who has needless bruises? Who has bloodshot eyes?

30 Those who linger over wine,
who go to sample bowls of mixed wine.

31 Do not gaze at wine when it is red,
when it sparkles in the cup,
when it goes down smoothly!

32 In the end it bites like a snake
and poisons like a viper.

33 Your eyes will see strange sights
and your mind imagine confusing things.

34 You will be like one sleeping on the high seas,
lying on top of the rigging.

35 “They hit me,” you will say, “but I’m not hurt!
They beat me, but I don’t feel it!
When will I wake up
so I can find another drink?”

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Jay says:

    Timley words my friend. Thank you for your consistency. Your words are more comforting than you probably know. Love you brother

    1. We’re praying and believing along side of you guys.

Leave a Reply

