The Possum In The Dryer Vent.


Last night, my wife and I spent an hour trying to extract a baby possum from our dryer vent.  That little guy taught me something.  As I sit here thinking about the ridiculousness of the night I am beginning to find some strange similarities between myself and the little marsupial.

The night started when we began to smell a strange odor coming from the dryer. We couldn’t figure out what it was.  We have animals and we thought possibly one of the dogs or cats pooped in our laundry.  My wife decided to run the dryer to see if the smell went away.  Within minutes of the heat coursing through the vent we started hearing a strange scratching/rattling noise.  I told my wife to turn it off so I can see if the vent got clogged.  Before I had made it to the laundry room the noise started again, this time the dryer wasn’t on.  That’s when we figured out the was something living in there.  My wife immediately knew it was a possum.  She said, “Now that I know there’s an animal in there I recognize that smell being a possum!”

After a long time of the two of us trying to muster up the courage to reach in there and grab it, we started to shake it.  We did everything we could to encourage it to crawl out, fall out, whatever it could do to get out of there! This thing was stubborn.  We could see its head.  It could see the light at the end of the tunnel but it just wouldn’t budge.  Finally we decided to take apart the tube and bring the whole thing outside.  We did just that… we set it free in the yard.  The possum scurried out into the night.

I know what you are thinking, yes I smell, the possum smells, very good analogy.  But thats not where I’m going.  I was stuck.  I was helpless in a “tube of sin” if you will.  There was no escape.  I couldn’t crawl backwards and I couldn’t move forward.  The climb back was too far and the path forward was blocked.  It started to get hot, and it wasn’t letting up.  My life was headed toward death and I was without an exit.  Then, suddenly, when all hope was lost… a Savior came.  He tried for hours, weeks, years to encourage me toward the light.  He knew how easy it would be for me to get out, but I just couldn’t do it alone.  Finally, He plucked me out of the dark, hot, cramped little hole I had built myself and placed me into a life of freedom.

Maybe you are reading this and you haven’t experienced that kind of freedom.   It’s available to you, right now.  Search your heart.  Do you need a Savior?  Maybe you have felt the same kind of release that I have.  Maybe you were knee deep in a pit of sin.  Maybe you couldn’t see the end.  Did Jesus pluck you out of the mire and place you on solid ground?  I want your testimony.  You need to tell the world!  There may be people reading this who need Jesus to save them.  Your testimony may be what they need to hear.

I encourage you, please, post your testimony – I want to hear about it!

Proverbs 19

1 Better a poor man whose walk is blameless
than a fool whose lips are perverse.

2 It is not good to have zeal without knowledge,
nor to be hasty and miss the way.

3 A man’s own folly ruins his life,
yet his heart rages against the LORD.

4 Wealth brings many friends,
but a poor man’s friend deserts him.

5 A false witness will not go unpunished,
and he who pours out lies will not go free.

6 Many curry favor with a ruler,
and everyone is the friend of a man who gives gifts.

7 A poor man is shunned by all his relatives—
how much more do his friends avoid him!
Though he pursues them with pleading,
they are nowhere to be found.

8 He who gets wisdom loves his own soul;
he who cherishes understanding prospers.

9 A false witness will not go unpunished,
and he who pours out lies will perish.

10 It is not fitting for a fool to live in luxury—
how much worse for a slave to rule over princes!

11 A man’s wisdom gives him patience;
it is to his glory to overlook an offense.

12 A king’s rage is like the roar of a lion,
but his favor is like dew on the grass.

13 A foolish son is his father’s ruin,
and a quarrelsome wife is like a constant dripping.

14 Houses and wealth are inherited from parents,
but a prudent wife is from the LORD.

15 Laziness brings on deep sleep,
and the shiftless man goes hungry.

16 He who obeys instructions guards his life,
but he who is contemptuous of his ways will die.

17 He who is kind to the poor lends to the LORD,
and he will reward him for what he has done.

18 Discipline your son, for in that there is hope;
do not be a willing party to his death.

19 A hot-tempered man must pay the penalty;
if you rescue him, you will have to do it again.

20 Listen to advice and accept instruction,
and in the end you will be wise.

21 Many are the plans in a man’s heart,
but it is the LORD’s purpose that prevails.

22 What a man desires is unfailing love [b] ;
better to be poor than a liar.

23 The fear of the LORD leads to life:
Then one rests content, untouched by trouble.

24 The sluggard buries his hand in the dish;
he will not even bring it back to his mouth!

25 Flog a mocker, and the simple will learn prudence;
rebuke a discerning man, and he will gain knowledge.

26 He who robs his father and drives out his mother
is a son who brings shame and disgrace.

27 Stop listening to instruction, my son,
and you will stray from the words of knowledge.

28 A corrupt witness mocks at justice,
and the mouth of the wicked gulps down evil.

29 Penalties are prepared for mockers,
and beatings for the backs of fools.

Leave a Reply

