I Hate Pride and Arrogance


I can tell by my view count that dedication is weakening.  Since I started this little study on Proverbs we’ve lost quite a few daily readers.  I find that interesting because this is what Christianity is all about… the Word.  I can give the benefit of the doubt.  Maybe people have been busy, or reading out of their own Bibles instead of on the blog.  Either way, views are down – but, that’s okay!  God gave me an assignment with this and I will see it through until the end of the month.  No regrets, no looking back.

Today is the first day in a while, it seems, that Solomon decided to put Adultery and lust on the shelf.  Today is poetry written with Lady Wisdom as the lead role.  It’s awesome to hear about “when there were no oceans,”  and, “before the mountains were settled in their place”.  God gives us clarity once again that not only He was alive and kicking before this earth was created, but, wisdom also existed.  Even then there was need for wisdom.  If wisdom were necessary before the earth was created, how much more do you think we need it now?

My favorite part of this chapter is verse 13.

13 To fear the LORD is to hate evil;
I hate pride and arrogance,
evil behavior and perverse speech.

All my life I’ve struggled with pride.  I don’t really know where it came from and it’s been a real pain to try to get rid of.  I truly have nothing to be arrogant about.  I’m moderately okay looking… I have countless flaws, so clearly no pride is justified.  But still it’s been lurking there all my life.  I believe some of the verses that speak the most to us are the ones we are dealing with at the time of our reading.  This one always sticks out, because sometimes we have sins in our lives that seemingly never go away.  We may overcome them nearly every time but still they are there.  For me, I have to keep my pride in check around every turn in my life.  Everything I do I have to ask myself, “am I doing this for self?”  If I am, it needs to be crucified.

I’ve taken an almost weekly inventory of my heart since I began this blog.  I’ve asked myself a dozen times whether or not I am doing this to benefit others or to boost my own ego.  There are days where I can honestly say if it had anything to do with my ego, looking at the view count would crucify those thoughts in a big way.  I am continuing to write day after day believing that someone needs to hear something I’m writing.

Ladies, I hope you are enjoying chapter 31.  Men, maybe you should go back and read about lust and adultery some more… you can never get too much of that good thing.  We must be vigilant against everything our eyes cast glance upon.  Enjoy today’s chapter concerning Wisdom.

Wisdom’s Call

1 Does not wisdom call out?
Does not understanding raise her voice?

2 On the heights along the way,
where the paths meet, she takes her stand;

3 beside the gates leading into the city,
at the entrances, she cries aloud:

4 “To you, O men, I call out;
I raise my voice to all mankind.

5 You who are simple, gain prudence;
you who are foolish, gain understanding.

6 Listen, for I have worthy things to say;
I open my lips to speak what is right.

7 My mouth speaks what is true,
for my lips detest wickedness.

8 All the words of my mouth are just;
none of them is crooked or perverse.

9 To the discerning all of them are right;
they are faultless to those who have knowledge.

10 Choose my instruction instead of silver,
knowledge rather than choice gold,

11 for wisdom is more precious than rubies,
and nothing you desire can compare with her.

12 “I, wisdom, dwell together with prudence;
I possess knowledge and discretion.

13 To fear the LORD is to hate evil;
I hate pride and arrogance,
evil behavior and perverse speech.

14 Counsel and sound judgment are mine;
I have understanding and power.

15 By me kings reign
and rulers make laws that are just;

16 by me princes govern,
and all nobles who rule on earth.

17 I love those who love me,
and those who seek me find me.

18 With me are riches and honor,
enduring wealth and prosperity.

19 My fruit is better than fine gold;
what I yield surpasses choice silver.

20 I walk in the way of righteousness,
along the paths of justice,

21 bestowing wealth on those who love me
and making their treasuries full.

22 “The LORD brought me forth as the first of his works,
before his deeds of old;

23 I was appointed from eternity,
from the beginning, before the world began.

24 When there were no oceans, I was given birth,
when there were no springs abounding with water;

25 before the mountains were settled in place,
before the hills, I was given birth,

26 before he made the earth or its fields
or any of the dust of the world.

27 I was there when he set the heavens in place,
when he marked out the horizon on the face of the deep,

28 when he established the clouds above
and fixed securely the fountains of the deep,

29 when he gave the sea its boundary
so the waters would not overstep his command,
and when he marked out the foundations of the earth.

30 Then I was the craftsman at his side.
I was filled with delight day after day,
rejoicing always in his presence,

31 rejoicing in his whole world
and delighting in mankind.

32 “Now then, my sons, listen to me;
blessed are those who keep my ways.

33 Listen to my instruction and be wise;
do not ignore it.

34 Blessed is the man who listens to me,
watching daily at my doors,
waiting at my doorway.

35 For whoever finds me finds life
and receives favor from the LORD.

36 But whoever fails to find me harms himself;
all who hate me love death.”

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Vanessa says:

    Hang on! I think your blog is doing wonderful things. Don’t let the low view counts discourage your writing. You have a gift, be patient and keep posting. You are doing exactly what God wanted you to do, sharing the word through your own experiences. I’ll keep on posting your link on my page in hopes that some of my stubborn “friends” will read! Thank you for your kindness!

  2. Thanks Vanessa. How did things go with your Pastor this evening?

  3. Vanessa says:

    He had to go be with a family who lost their son yesterday. Please keep the Gilmore family in your prayers.
    Our group table only had 3 people last night, so God sent another woman to sit with us. On purpose no doubt because He knows exactly what we need. She has some books on the generational curses and she counsels…God is good!

Leave a Reply

