Deeper Than Any Ocean.


Challenger Deep in the Mariana Trench is the deepest point in Earth's oceans. At the bottom there are 35,840 feet below sea level. If Mount Everest, the highest mountain on Earth, were placed at this location it would be covered by over one mile of water.

I have been working on a song over the past couple months. I’ve told you all that I’ve been infatuated with God’s love. What’s funny is that the word tells us that we can’t escape God’s love, but until you find yourself in the position I’m in you won’t understand what He meant.  When you catch a hold of how incredible His love for you is, it won’t go away. You just keep dwelling on it. Day in and day out.

I’m going to share the lyrics with you guys. You’ll be the first to read them apart from my lovely wife.

I lift my head to hill
Where i know my God will be standing still
reaching out to rescue me with his hand

King of a thousand hosts
Who gives me a future and a hope
Who leads me to the river to stand

Your love is deeper than any ocean
Your love is greater than any storm
And your love makes me lie beside still waters
And I don’t want to leave, I never want to be without your love

Oh Jesus your matchless name
exceedingly awesome above all fame
I could sing of your praises forever and a day

I believe in your kingdom come
When heaven and earth will be as one
I hope and I pray that the world will see the way

Your love is deeper than any ocean
Your love is greater than any storm
And your love makes me lie beside still waters
And I don’t want to leave, I never want to be without your love

My honest prayer is that we’d all learn about God’s love and that we’d share it with as many people as we can.

“Your love is deeper than any ocean”  You read above about Mariana Trench.  It’s the deepest point of the earth.  Imagine traveling six miles beneath the earth’s surface.  Think about what the water’s contain;  How dark, cold, dreary it would be down there.  God’s love is still there.  No matter how deep you go, God’s love will always be there.  Now matter how cold and dark things get, His arms are still there to grip you tight.  It doesn’t matter how many millions of tons of water are between you and the sunlit skies, God will be right there.

“Your love is greater than any storm”  Those of us in South Florida remember 1994’s Hurricane Andrew.  Some of you may be more familiar with Hurricane Katrina.  All of us have weathered a physical storm.  We’ve seen their devastating effects level well-built cities;  Entire counties destroyed almost beyond repair.  Louisiana is still recovering from Katrina which plowed through New Orleans over 5 years ago.  States become overwhelmed by these storms… when we allow it, we can become overwhelmed by God’s love.

Remember when you were a kid?  Did you ever experience that moment when you found yourself in a fight with an older sibling or friend?  I remember once I was playing basketball and our neighbor, who was a couple of years older than I, got mad at me and tackled me.  He pinned both of my arms to the ground a spit in my face.  It was a horrifying experience.  But because of that experience I can 100% relate to the feeling of being overwhelmed.  You aren’t able to move, think, or do anything.  When God is allowed to unleash His love on us it should envelope us to a point where we can’t even think about anything but Him and His relentless love.

“Your love makes me lie beside still waters”  What better place is there to be than beside the still waters of God’s Shalom peace?  That all encompassing, all engulfing peace that surpasses all understanding.  It’s awesome when everything in life is chaotic and out of sorts but there’s just an undeniable peace that comes from deep within.  I can just imagine the Holy Spirit with my heart in His hands stroking it like a kitten.  Holding my worried heart in His strong arms like a mother holds her crying child.  Whispering, singing… soothing.  That’s what God does.  He soothes our hearts.

“And I don’t want to leave, I never want to be without your love.”

One Comment Add yours

  1. mark happel says:

    Much needed thank you!!

Leave a Reply

