Developing a Healthy Appetite.


1 Peter 2:2 NLT Like newborn babies, you must crave pure spiritual milk so that you will grow into a full experience of salvation. Cry out for this nourishment…

A healthy baby should have a healthy appetite.  If a baby is born who doesn’t crave milk then likely there’s something wrong.  Much as we can make that assessment in the natural, we can make it spiritually.  If you receive the Holy Spirit, if you accept Christ, and you aren’t craving spiritual milk, or spiritual growth, then something is wrong. Evaluate your priorities.  We need to be feeding ourselves daily.  If you didn’t eat physically every day you’d very quickly become weak.  In the same manner, if you don’t eat your spiritual food daily, your spirit will become weak.

Job writes in 23:12; “I have esteemed the words of His mouth more than my necessary food,”  He calls earthy food necessary, yet says that His words (God’s words) are esteemed higher.  This tells me that His Words are MORE necessary that natural food.

So what are some ways to make sure to read daily? What are some tips to keep yourself motivated?

1.  Don’t read the Bible like you would a novel.  Grab a highlighter and read until something sticks out.  Highlight it.  Write it down.  Put it on a stick note and put it on your computer monitor at work, or on the dashboard in the car.  Mediate on it throughout the day.  God will begin to reveal things to you that way.

2. Find a specific time and place to read.  Make it special.  I choose to read my Bible while I eat my breakfast.  I know what you are saying, that isn’t personal, private, special time.  To me it is.  I am a mindless eater.  I could eat in my sleep.  It isn’t something that requires my thought, so I focus my thoughts on what I am reading while I mindlessly shovel food into my mouth.  Find something that works for you.

3.  Put a Bible in your bathroom.  This sounds silly but it works.  You are there.  You’re going to be there for a significant period of time.  Utilize it.  You are probably just going to waste time on your iPhone (what a great invention that was!)  So, instead of playing some stupid game (I know… they aren’t stupid they are awesome.) Open up your Blue Letter Bible or New Life Church app and get reading!

4. Do a book or word study.  Maybe you are like me and after having read through your Bible so many times, you find yourself getting bored or just not paying attention.  Pick a specific book (right now I’m in James) and just keep reading it over and over again until you’ve drained all the juice out of it for this season of your life.  Or maybe just work on a single word for a bit.  We started talking about faith yesterday.  Maybe that can be your first assignment.  Learn more about the word faith.  Study it in different languages.  Greek, Hebrew, Latin, French – who cares just learn about the word!  It will help you better understand what God is trying to convey.

5. Read a Proverb a day.  God gave us 28-31 days in each month.  He also gave us 31 Proverbs.  Read one a day.  Coincide it with the day of the month.  (i.e. Sept. 1st read Proverbs 1).  Read it once in the morning and once at night.

I hope this’ll help you develop a appetite for the word.  God Bless.

Leave a Reply

