Forget God’s Will For Your Life!


I’m around a lot of young adults on a daily basis.  Being 25, most of my friends are in their mid to late 20’s and a lot of them are new Christians.  I’ve been studying a bit about God’s heroes and the faith hall of faithfound in Hebrews chapter 11.  It’s interesting because I always hear the phrase “I don’t know what God’s will for my life is,” or they often tell me that I’m lucky because I know what God’s will for my life is.  In fairness, my wife and I don’t know what God’s will for our life together is.  We know what God’s will for this season of our life is.

As most of you know, we are “called” to lead worship at a church.  But does that means that’s God’s will for our lives?  Absolutely not.  That just means that at some point in our lives we will lead worship at a church.  I pray to God that His will for my “life” isn’t as mundane as leading worship at a church.  Why would I want to limit God’s will over us to one specific thing?  For all we know God’s plan for us may be overseas in a hut somewhere.  We see in part.  We certainly don’t limit God to one thing.

I find that subconsciously many young Christians and even those who have been saved for years use God’s will as a copout to not live in the moment.  Looking at some of God’s heroes, men such as Abraham who never knew in advance what God had in store for him.  One day the Lord said pack up and leave and he did.  He got his family together and shuffled on out, not knowing where he was going or what the plan was.  He wasn’t worried about retirement or a 401k.  He wasn’t worried about making sure his business was producing money on it’s own so he could afford to go to Africa and minister to the tribes.  He didn’t worry.

Often, we wait and wait for God to reveal His plan for our lives and we miss out on living in the Holy Spirit.  The Spirit is there to guide us day to day.  God is more concerned with us listening to Him on a daily basis than He is giving us His master plan.  Many times if we knew what His plan was for 20 years down the road we would avoid it at all costs.  If God told me today that I was going to spend time in Africa I wouldn’t be excited.  But who knows what 15 years of serving will do to my spirit.  Fifteen years from now I may have served under someone who spent years in Africa and told me stories that bolstered my faith and got me excited so that when I heard the call I was ready to go.

Stop asking God what His will for your life is and start asking Him what His will for today is.  One day at a time, step by step, little by little.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Jay says:

    Steven I love the part when you said that we see in part, i know that it is in the bible, but it is so important because sometimes the part we see is not the first step. In my life most of the time I had to step out first to what I thought God was leading me to before I could really know that this is it. First step is always the scary one! Great job, you and your wife ROCK!!

  2. Hey Jay,

    This one was difficult because I was a bit worried that it wouldn’t be taken seriously from me. Most of the readers know that when a prophet is in town I could be in the restroom at the church and the guy would call me out. It seems every time a prophet is around Robyn and I get a word. But again that doesn’t mean we know a whole lot more than anyone else.

    For years we had no clue… we thought that I’d be touring the world in a metal band by now. But we just served and served and served… and then served more and more. God reveals things to those who choose to do whatever He wants of them… at that moment. If I just sat around soaking in church and never used my talents for Him, He may have never given us a clue.

    Some of us may say “I have no talent” but that’s not true of any one. Many people discount simple things like being a nice person or having a great smile. Those things are talents in God’s eye. You may be being led to be a greeter at a church because God knows He can trust you to represent Him well outside of the four walls.

    All to often greeters aren’t very friend inside or outside the church… and what does that do for God? Nothing positive. So I suppose my point is that we all need to act more like Jay.

    Jay serves until he can’t serve any more. No job is not his job. For those of you who don’t know him… know this. Jay is smack dab right in the middle of God’s will all the time because no matter where he is, he is serving.

    1. Veronica says:

      You said it! Oh and Jay ROCKS!

Leave a Reply

