God Saved Me From Myself


It has been brought to my attention that I may not have made it clear that I was and currently am not perfect. Of course there were times during my childhood when i disobeyed my parents and acted out. So, I’m sorry if I misled anyone.  I’ve screwed up.  But the grand view of my life was not a grand testimony of coming out of sin and debauchery. I simply never experienced the drunken partying, drugs, sexually promiscuous life many teens did.
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________

For those of you that know me, it is a friendly joke that I never lead a “normal” life. I don’t have some spectacular testimony about being saved from the muck and mire of sin. If you want to hear a story of ups and downs (mostly downs), sorry… not from me.

I got saved when I was about 10. Previous to that I was raised in church as a good catholic boy. I received first communion and attended CCD on a regular basis. I loved and honored my parents and grandparents. I had a great childhood. When I got saved I never really left. I don’t have a backslider testimony either.

Sometimes I wish I had something crazy to offer. I wish I could say that I had a Paul conversion story for everyone, but not me.

I’ve spent some time reading testimonies of those like me and those not like me. I have friends who have experienced a version of my life and then those who are so far removed from my story that it seems as if we couldn’t have possibly been raised in the same hometown. Oftentimes, stories like mine are overlooked and the crowds are longing to hear the story of the addict or the abused suddenly finding refuge in the arms of Christ. Although those stories are great, those of you who share my story, count it all joy!

We should be telling everyone that God saved us from alcoholism, and drug abuse. He rescued us from poor sexual choices and debauchery. He did didn’t He? You didn’t experience those things… and it wasn’t because you are so great. God saw fit that you would be one of the few in this age to be kept pure (or at least pure-er). We need examples. If no one could say they never smoked or did drugs and never touched alcohol then no one would believe it were possible.

God is so faithful to keep things diverse. Praise God for keeping you from bad choices!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Dan says:

    That is why it is important as a parent to pray over your kids. Break generational curses such as addictions, God does listen.

  2. Johnny says:

    Sounds like my testimony but no Catholic church.

Leave a Reply

