Kill Your Idols


If you enjoy reading this blog, could I ask you to post a link to http://www.stevebeaulieuministires.com on your facebook or other social networks?  Thanks.  I love you guys and appreciate your commitment!

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Dictionary.com defines Idolatry as: excessive or blind adoration, reverence, devotion, etc.

It gives the following synonyms: obsession, madness, mania.

I find it strange that Idolatry is synonymous with the word Madness.  What does God say about idolatry?

3 “You shall have no other gods before me.

4 “You shall not make for yourself an idol in the form of anything in heaven above or on the earth beneath or in the waters below. 5 You shall not bow down to them or worship them; for I, the LORD your God, am a jealous God…”  Exodus 20:3-5a

What does it mean to make for yourself an idol?  It doesn’t necessarily mean out of wood or stone or precious metals.  This is anything, anything at all, that we put above God.  If you spend more time in front of your TV than you do thinking about God, talking to God, or focusing on God, it becomes an idol.  The same thing can be said for music, computers, iPhones, video games, or even yourself.  If you spend hours each morning in front of your mirror trying to make yourself look good enough to go out for the day, you have idolized yourself above God.

God is jealous.  Non-Christians (even some Christians) are confused by that statement.  We have made jealousy out to be an evil thing.  God has a righteous Jealousy.  Let’s face it, He has every right.  He created us.  Parents, if your children spend more time with their friends than they do you, don’t you get jealous?  Some may not admit it or recognize it for what it is, but it is jealousy.  You want your kids to call you, talk to you, sit with you, share with you.  When their friends get everything and you get the scraps doesn’t it upset you?

Now, think about God.  He created us.  He formed us from nothing.  He breathed His holy breath into us, giving us life.  He wants us.  He purposely created us with the ability to put other things in front of Him.  He didn’t want robots.  He wanted beings that could choose to love Him.  Forcing someone to love you is slavery.  God didn’t create a bunch of slaves.  He created a bunch of free men and women who have a choice concerning who they love and who they serve.  That is why there is a party in heaven when a soul comes home.  God get’s giddy when a son or daughter returns to Him.

Remember the parable of the prodigal son?  I like to see it as the parable of the loving father.  It is a perfect representation of our father in heaven.  He freely let’s us go.  He allows us to make mistakes.  But all the while He waits… staring down the beaten road, waiting for His lost one to come home.  And when they do, there is a feast, there’s music and dancing.

He loves us.  Oh, how he loves us.  – I am lead to recite the words to the song because they are just so fitting.

He is jealous for me
He loves like a hurricane, I am a tree bending beneath the weight of His wind and mercy.
When all of a sudden, I am unaware of these afflictions eclipsed by glory.
And I realize just how beautiful You are and how great your affections are for me.

Oh, how He loves us, Oh, how He loves us.  How He loves us so.  (stop here and just say those words out loud.  It’ll change your day)

We are His portion and He is our prize.
Drawn to redemption by the grace in His eyes
If grace is an ocean than we’re all sinking
Heaven meets earth like a sloppy wet kiss
My heart turns violently inside of my chest
I don’t have the time to maintain these regrets when I think about the way  He loves me.

He loves us, Oh, How He loves us.  Oh, how He loves us.  Oh, How He loves.

Man, what a song.  I hope this was an encouragement as you start this awesome day.  Did I mention how much I love Sunday?  I am thrilled when I get to go to God’s house.  Jesus is awesome.  Glory!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Jay says:

    Man what a thought, if we could all wake up with that thought every day WOW what a day that would be. Then imagine Sunday with all of us in agreement, coming together to worship the King. I’m excited Steve thanks I can’t wait to get to get to church!

  2. muzacmercer says:

    I recently wrote a song about the Prodigal Son. This is my testimony of God’s amazing grace in my life. If you have a sec here it is. Thanks for listening

    Edit: Hey all this is Steve. Brice wrote a song about his testimony. It was embedded in this comment but I decided to link it to youtube instead. Go check it out.
    GOTO:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n7jEa_85ZPQ

  3. Reblogged this on .

Leave a Reply

