Agnosticism


I got into a bit of a tiff with someone who’s soul I care deeply about today.  It pained me to see this person and their friends misunderstanding the Word of God.  Some of them have referred to God as a Wizard, others as a mythical creature.  When I hear young people so hateful toward the Bible it makes me question what part, if any of it, they have read.

Let’s take a brief look at the Bible and see where we went wrong.  More importantly, let’s look at Jesus and His words and that of the New Testament.  The argument is that we as Christians are blindly following the words of men.  Since the writers of the New Testament wrote the Word after Jesus’ death we shouldn’t believe them.  That’s the argument.  Furthermore, they believe that Jesus Himself was a myth.

So, let’s assume for a moment that they are right.  It’s all junk, all made up, nothing true about it.  Does the Bible still carry weight?  Absolutely.  What is there in the Bible other than teachings about how to live a loving, caring, respectful life?  Not much.  Agnostics and atheists and people who in general have never read the Bible don’t understand that there aren’t any weird rituals that we believe in… there aren’t any crazy edicts that we must follow.  Really, when it comes down to it we follow a moral code.  What they are truly saying when they bash the Bible and/or its believers is that they hate morality.  I as a Christian don’t do anything weird other than live a moral life.  I don’t swear, drink, smoke, do drugs, sleep around, or act perversely and somehow that is interpreted as odd.

Apart from the Bible, if you were 15 in front of your parents you probably wouldn’t do any of these things.  Why?  Because there is a moral code inside all of us from birth.  Because of man’s fall we know the difference between right and wrong.  We know that sex with multiple partners is wrong.  You can fool yourself into believe it’s not, but you wouldn’t want you mom to know you were sleeping around.  You wouldn’t want your mom to know you are snorting coke, or drinking a fifth of vodka.  These are immoral things.

What’s wrong with living a moral, righteous life?  You don’t have to be a Christian to do that.

U Thant, a Burmese diplomat in UN delivered a speech giving credit to Buddha for everything that he has obtained in his career.  Were there any atheist or agnostics up in arms over that?  No, there weren’t.  Buddhism teaches peace and love just like Christianity does, so what’s the problem?  If a Christian tried to give that speech publicly he would be ridiculed.

I want to talk about the spiritual and natural reasons why we see these things on a regular basis.

First, the spiritual.  The devil doesn’t care if Buddha gets credit, he’s dead and has no power.  Christ is alive and is the devil’s sworn enemy.  Would you want your most hated rival getting credit for something?  We live in a fallen world that hates good and revels in evil.  Satan manipulates people and causes them to get riled up about Christ because he hates Jesus and His followers.

Second, the natural.  The reason we suffer ridicule can often be traced back to us – the Christians.  We are hypocritical, lying, self-serving people.  Sure, that was a blanket statement, but when 86% of this heathenistic country claims to be Bible believing Christians, yet act completely contrary to the Bible they’ve never read, it really gives those of us who are trying to live a sanctified life before Christ a bad name.

We can’t change everyone’s mind every time.  What we can do is give them less of a reason to hate us.  If you claim to be an apple, don’t act like an orange.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Dan says:

    I’ve found (or should say was told by God) that getting into a tiff with people is a waste of time. Being an ex-Catholic, I thought I had the right to bash a few Catholic heads in my tow truck. Why not? They were captive ay 60 mph on I-95, plus I had their car on the hook. I honestly thought I was getting through to them until God showed me the result. They hated protestants even more. The same goes with agnostics and atheists. 99% haven’t read the word, they heard somebody else say the Bible was changed, or written by men, or written long after Christ “died”. One of the biggest problems with the newer generations is nobody is telling them who Jesus is. When I was growing up there were families (including parents) who had no idea who Jesus is. So with each generation multiply those numbers. It’s not that they are stupid, wiseguys, or sometimes atheists. They are lost because for years they have been wandering, hearing all the “bad” things about us. The way we talk sometimes gives people the impression that we are perfect. Maybe one way to start with them is to let them know we all have our short-comings and we are far from perfect.

    1. Thank you for the kind words, and for taking the time to add your input. Please realize that all of my statements were not made toward ALL atheists and agnostics, they were made toward those who bash Christians and the Bible. As I always say, I don’t believe in gnomes, but I don’t bash and hate gnomes… I simply don’t believe in them. I wouldn’t spend all of my days trying to convince everyone gnomes don’t exist – especially when it truly wouldn’t help anyone to believe that.

      I don’t understand when atheists or agnostics try to push their agenda, because in the end, it doesn’t in any way benefit someone to be either of these. They can’t claim a better life (unless they are simply claiming apathy toward sin, and then we are again just talking lack of morals).

      When I, as a Christian, attempts to convey my love for Christ, it is not for my benefit. It is because I have experienced something that is so amazing that I want everyone I know to experience it. There’s a grand difference between searching for enlightenment, and knowing that you’ve found it.

      As a Christian, I’ve found the most enlightened, peaceful, unexplainable experience imaginable. It’s something that can hardly be conveyed with words. This is why true Christians are so excited to spread the gospel. At the end of our days, we have no promise of 72 virgins, nor do we have some magnificent reward waiting for us when we convert people to Christianity. We don’t benefit greatly at all. There’s no hidden agenda within our Church. We aren’t looking for higher offerings or larger churches. We want to share something so unique and exciting with someone who will never experience it elsewhere.

      Phil 4: 4-9 says it plainly.

      4 Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice! 5 Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near. 6 Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. 7 And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.
      8 Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things. 9 Whatever you have learned or received or heard from me, or seen in me—put it into practice. And the God of peace will be with you.

      In closing, I’ve spent my early teenage years “searching”. Sure, I was always a Christian, but unbiasedly I read the religious texts of all other major religions and some that were not so major. It was my goal to make sure that I was following the right one. It was the ONLY one that gave me any sense of reality. The others were pretty words without power. They were all self-enlightening and never pointing toward a great and awesome God. Arrogance and self-piety point toward a lack of creator.

      Inasmuch as nothing since the dawn of time has been created out of nothing, not a single organism ever was created out of nothing. A Creator stands before us, not as an unjust judge waiting to smite those who don’t believe. But He stands, as a lover, a Father who cares deeply about those who He has created. He loves us so much that He placed our desires above even His own when He created us with the ability to choose. He didn’t create robots who loved Him not matter what, which He could have. He created us able to give ourselves to Him, or to search blindly for something to fill the God-shaped whole inside each one of us.

      I pray that the world will hear His soft, gentle, loving voice and in turn experience the joy that it is to be a Christian. But until that day appears, I will continue to love Him with my whole heart. I will continue to speak the truth in love to those who haven’t yet received His presence into their life. I will show mercy and grace just as He has shown me.

  2. JP says:

    Great blog and very handsome website Steeve, Im genuinely impressed. You are eloquent, concise, and I can tell you choose your words wisely.
    I want to stick up for atheists and agnostics for a second though.
    First of all, its not entirely accurate to say non-believers havnt read the bible.
    The New York Times recently reported that Atheists minds work in a way that they need verification and by virtue have studied scripture at length.
    http://www.nytimes.com/2010/09/28/us/28religion.html?_r=2&ref=us
    Some of the most ardent Atheists Ive conversed with come from very scripture oriented backgrounds. Perhaps even if one hasn’t read the bible cover to cover, it would be a intellectuality dishonest to reject all of their concerns. Certainly with 86% of society claiming piety, all of us are exposed to our neighbors friends and families interpretations of the bible.

    Besides that. I want to point out that atheists are not often anti-theists. Just like “Christians that make our work difficult for us” Anti-theists are constantly advocating a position of tearing down the establishment of all religion, chide Christians, some can be even militant about it.
    To me banning a prayer before a high school football game is just as abhorrent as teaching creationism in biology class.
    Our country is a nation of tolerance, and this is unpatriotic. Im an atheist, but I dont agree with this philosophy at all. I respect Christianity and Christians. I think they do more good then harm in society, charity, good will towards man, I believe in the power of faith. I think Christianity is a powerful, if not the most powerful engine of morality.
    Religion however, regardless of faction, is not the only engine. Christians, Buddhists, did not invent morality. I believe in living a moral life, regardless of reward or condemnation of afterlife, just because its the right thing to do (and natural). I believe in Virtue, Benjamin Franklin’s 12 virtues are awesome, he’s kind of a hero of mine.
    http://www.squidoo.com/virtues-to-live-by

    I study great enlightenment era philosophers like John Locke, and Voltaire, who believed that morality is a form of “Natural Law” Im sure youve heard of Secular Humanism as well.

  3. JP says:

    –“I don’t understand when atheists or agnostics try to push their agenda, because in the end, it doesn’t in any way benefit someone to be either of these.”
    You know what, I cant say I disagree with you, many (even most) people need to hold belief and be accountable to a higher power to live a virtuous life. Most people are not capable of this (staying on the path)on their own. I think perhaps that “people, humans, mankind” feels they need to make others think the same way they do, make pariahs out of those that do not, and do not understand sociology and humanism, or havnt read Ben Franklin’s #2.
    However, some people are absolutely capable of living rich fulfilled lives without god. I feel that I am somewhat enlightened, but I dont want to go as far (or be as smug) to say Ive “reached enlightenment” MY life will be epiphemous and my ideology will evolve until the day I die. My enlightenment tends towards my abilities of independent thought, and contemplation. Enlightenment is not the same for everyone. I would definitely say you are somewhat enlightened (As evident in your non dogmatic writings). But your enlightenment, is different then mine.,(or maybe not so much..)

    1. The difference between my enlightenment, and that of a non-Christian is simple. My enlightenment is fully based off of someone else’s righteousness; therefore, in all ways, non-arrogant. I claim zero ability to be righteous, enlightened, or good in and of myself. My having reached such things are based on what Jesus did in my life, nothing that I have done by myself.

      I praise God that I neither have to perform dutifully or exercise ungainly in order to possess this most precious gift. God, in all His mercy, gave His Son to pay a debt that He didn’t owe in order for me to sit here and write this message full of peace with the understanding that no weapon formed against me can prosper and that all things work out to the good of those who love God and are called according to His purpose.

      If I never spoke another word or performed another action I rest assured that my eternity will be forever in the arms of the One who created all things. Again, by you agree with me, I gain nothing. My only desire is that all men will know the assurance I know. It is for the benefit of the hearer, not the speaker that Christianity exists.

      So, if enlightenment exists apart from God, no man knows, because no man has fully experienced it; otherwise it wouldn’t have been a search. However, I know that the virtues of enlightenment – Unexplained peace, Unconditional Love, Righteousness and Purity are found within the hearts of those who love Jesus fully, unwavering, admitting that we are sinners, who were lost and found. Apart from hypocrisy, knowing that we are far from perfect, being transparent before a world who hates us.

      To God be the glory in my life because I no longer search in vain for that which doesn’t exist apart from Him.

      I value your words JP. I appreciate your taking the time to visit and comment. I hope this won’t be the last.

  4. JP says:

    Ill be reading. I think your blog has lots of philosophical value. I like philosophy, I would never debate you on scripture or frivolously try to prove or disprove my belief or yours. I realized the absurdity of that years ago (Ive enlightened somewhat). My comments will more likely be from a subjective philosophical vantage point. To reference Ben Franklin (outspoken deist) again, he had a close friendship with George Whitfield, (father of evangelism, he started the great awakening”). I think both of their lives were enriched by their friendship. Part of enlightenment (for me) is to surround yourselves with those that dont necessarily think the way you do. Otherwise you just spin your wheels intellectually.
    http://www.earlyamerica.com/lives/franklin/chapt10/

Leave a Reply

