From the Inside Out


Happy Sunday, my favorite day of the week.  I will quote the psalmist who said “I was glad when the said unto me, let us go into the house of the LORD.” Psalm 122:1. There’s nothing I enjoy more than going to the House of God.  I wish there was something happening at church every day.  I’m a “doors open I’m there” kind of guy.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________

FROM THE INSIDE OUT

As a web developer I’m faced with unforeseen issues on a daily basis.  I spend hours and hours looking at code and then checking my work, looking at code and then checking my work.  This weekend I was working on a website for my wife.  She is an awesome photographer and I wanted to bless her with a portfolio.  As I was coding the site (all the non-visual, mundane, nonsense looking stuff that means nothing to most people LOL) I came across an issue that baffled me for hours.  The website looked great.  As I posted it to my test server and played around with it; visually it popped.  However, there was a function which I believed to be key to the greatness of the site that just wouldn’t seem to work.  Again, it showed up visually, but it didn’t do what I wanted it to behind the scenes.

I realized how much this represents a lot of our walks with Christ.  On the outside we look spectacular.  We know how to walk the walk and talk the talk.  We’ve figured out how to hold our Bible’s just right so that we look like the epitome of Christianity.  We show up on time for Church and we stay late after, schmoozing and hob-nobbing.  But many of us go home, even on a Sunday afternoon, directly after church, and begin to live like hell.  There’s a song called “Sing like you’re saved”  I say it should be “Live like you’re saved”  Ever heard the expression, “if you are happy inform your face”?  If you are saved, inform your attitude.

When I finally figured out what was wrong with my website, it really hit me.  All this coding… a perfect looking visual… but something was missing. One tiny little script, without which the website wouldn’t function to its greatest capacity.  Many of us are missing something.  Some of us are missing Love.  If you often find yourself angry;  if you drive down the road and get stuck behind a slowpoke and your reaction is to curse or even just give them “the stare,” you are probably missing love.  Maybe some of you are missing compassion.  Some of you are just missing the spark that causes Christians to want to go out and change the world.

Did you know that Christ called each of us to change our world?  He said, “Go into the world and preach the gospel.”  This was no suggest, it was a command.  The great commission.  Without those willing to go out we would have quickly fizzled out.  Thank God for those who take the great commission to heart.  They Love.  They have compassion on those who are in need.  They are sympathetic to those without.  They have a passion for the lost.  They have the drive to persevere.  Ask yourself; Are you one of these?  If not, why?

If you answered yes, ask what you are doing to make a difference.  Some will say yes, and then wait for God to “open a door”.  I think all too often Christians are waiting for some spiritual door to open.  God didn’t say, “Go into the world and preach the gospel when I open the door.”  He said, Go.

But before you go, remember change begins on the inside.  When our insides change our outsides follow.   The Kenyan Chameleon is an amazing creature.  When its temperature changes, so does its color.  Try and catch that… when its insides change, so then does its outside.

I pray that each of us will this week ask God how we are supposed to change our world.  For some of us it may begin with our children.  Other’s might influence our neighbors.  Again others might take the good news of Christ to our cities and our states… to our nation and our world.  God is good and His mercy endures to all generations.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. monkeyGrove says:

    Thank you for your sharing.

  2. Thanks for reading! Can I ask how you discovered my blog?

Leave a Reply

