When was the last time?


This blog will be a bit different for those of you who read regularly but I want you to take a good look at yourself in your internal mirror and honestly answer these questions.

When was the last time you went to church?

When was the last time you read your Bible?

When was the last time you talked to God?

When was the last time you truly worshipped God?

When was the last time you heard from God?

When was the last time you prayed for someone?

When was the last time you actually prayed for someone… laid hands on them and lifted them up to God?

When was the last time you helped someone in need?

When was the last time you thought about someone else before yourself?

When was the last time you forgave someone?

When was the last time you were forgiven by someone?

When was the last time you gave someone an encouraging word?

When was the last time you blessed someone just because?

When was the last time you held the door open for a stranger?

When was the last time you made a cashier laugh?

When was the last time you gave a stranger a compliment?

When was the last time you tithed?

When was the last time you gave over and above your tithe?

When was the last time you shook someone’s hand you didn’t know at church?

When was the last time you told your spouse you loved them?

When was the last time you heard someone say they love you?

For those of you who couldn’t answer the last one.  I love you.  I honestly do.  I don’t know who you may be, but I love you dearly.  Jesus loves you more than you could possibly know.  I hope you answered these questions honestly.  I hope you wrote down your answers.  I encourage you to print this out and fill in the blanks.  Keep a mental list of the things you don’t do often enough so that you can work on them.  We should always strive to grow as Christians every day.  That doesn’t necessarily mean reading more of our Bibles (although there’s nothing wrong with that) or even praying more (again nothing wrong with it).  Sometimes it means helping someone else… maybe even someone who doesn’t know God.

I love you.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. baseball Mom says:

    I stumbled on your blog the other day and have been back several times to read your daily posts. I first thought oh how cool it is when I stumble across something so close to what my own Pastor has been preaching on and talking about, but then I remembered noone crosses our path accidentally, and that this is God’s doing. I mentioned your blog to my Pastor Wednesday night during our Journey groups and told him how close your writings are to what his messages have been lately, his reply was that God is really speaking to his people right now to share these messages. What a blessing you both are, thank you again for sharing!

    1. Thank you so much for taking the time to write. It’s so good to hear people being blessed by what God is laying on my heart. Your Pastor is right, God is desperately trying to reach His people during these last days. He desires that we live a blameless life, spotless, without blemish so that when He returns He’ll have our hearts. What church do you go to?

  2. baseball Mom says:

    It’s called The Crossing Place. We dont have a church yet, so we hold services at the auditorium here in town, and our youth meet at our church office/youth center. Here is our website. thecrossingplacemc.com These people have been such a blessing in our (mine and my 13 year old son) lives. We are in South Louisiana, where are you guys?

  3. Sounds very much like our church. We meet at a school auditorium and have youth group @ our office down the street. We are located in Wellington, FL. Can I ask how you stumbled upon my blog?

    1. Jay says:

      As i read this list i was encouraged because honestly as i answered tbe questions the answers were positive in the sense that i am doing what i think God would want. Then the question when have i prayed for someone, really prayed. I just lost an opportunity, not because of circumstance but because i didn’t. There was a need brought to me and i let it pass. Oh boy again. Then at the end you said to keep a mental list and work on it. How encouraging, to know that i fall short every day and still Jesus loves me and wants me to come to him with my shortcomings and failures. How awesome is that.
      I love you too Steve you are awesome.

  4. baseball Mom says:

    I was just reading blogs and happened upon yours, it was such a blessing that I bookmarked your page and keep coming back:) I normally just stick to facebook, but there isnt much “blogging” done there, I’m glad I stumbled over here! Thank you again.

Leave a Reply

