Does God call us to Church?


I find all too often people making excuses for not attending church.  Unfortunately, bad church “experiences” have left a lot of people with a bitter taste in their mouths.  The excuse I think I hear most often is “I have my own relationship with God, I don’t feel like I need to go to church.”  What does the Bible say about attending?

Hebrews 10:25
Let us not give up meeting together, as some are in the habit of doing, but let us encourage one another—and all the more as you see the Day approaching.

This tells us that Church attendance is needed now more than ever!  “as you see the Day approaching.” refers to the second coming of Christ.  Each day that passes is another day closer.  It couldn’t be argued if I were to say that we need church more and more each day.

The Bible calls us to be the Body of Christ.  We can’t be the Body if we aren’t all gathering.  In other words, I couldn’t be whole if my torso lived in Atlanta and my left arm lived in Nebraska.  All of my parts need to be gathered together in one place in order for me to be whole.  This refers to the global church.  The local church is just as in need.

Romans 12:5
… so in Christ we who are many form one body, and each member belongs to all the others. NIV

No man is an island.  We all need each other in order to grow, love, fellowship and serve.  It is for our benefit that we go to church.  It helps us to grow.  If anyone has gone to church long enough, then they know it is also a test of our ability to forgive.  Many opportunities arise, we must seize them and learn to be gracious.
1 Corinthians 12:12
The body is a unit, though it is made up of many parts; and though all its parts are many, they form one body. So it is with Christ. NIV
1 Corinthians 12:14-23
Now the body is not made up of one part but of many. If the foot should say, “Because I am not a hand, I do not belong to the body,” it would not for that reason cease to be part of the body. And if the ear should say, “Because I am not an eye, I do not belong to the body,” it would not for that reason cease to be part of the body. If the whole body were an eye, where would the sense of hearing be? If the whole body were an ear, where would the sense of smell be? But in fact God has arranged the parts in the body, every one of them, just as he wanted them to be. If they were all one part, where would the body be? As it is, there are many parts, but one body.

The eye cannot say to the hand, “I don’t need you!” And the head cannot say to the feet, “I don’t need you!” On the contrary, those parts of the body that seem to be weaker are indispensable, and the parts that we think are less honorable we treat with special honor. NIV

1 Corinthians 12:27
Now you are the body of Christ, and each one of you is a part of it. NIV

What truly amazes me is that 2/3 of the New Testament are writings to churches and we as Christians today say we don’t need church?  What makes us better, smarter, or greater than Paul and the Disciples?  These are men who WALKED with Christ and they attended Church after Christ was taken up.  They literally had their own relationships with God.  They  walked with Him, talked with Him, ate with Him, laughed with Him, cried with Him and watched Him die and be risen again.  Did they say “I don’t need church, I know Jesus”?

If you are a church goer you are blessed.

If you aren’t a church goer because of a bad experience, I urge you to try again at a new church.  If you went out to eat and had a bad meal it wouldn’t cause you to lose faith in restaurants would it?  There are many places to obtain physical food… there are also many places to obtain spiritual food.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Lauryn says:

    Good message!

  2. Michele says:

    I know for me, I need church. If I don’t have godly people to talk to, seminars to go to and conversations with and about God I begin to go down hill quickly mentally. I need alter time and the opportunity to pray for other. I need it all to survive. I know people who don’t go to church but I need it and I want to be a good example for my kids. Sometimes people don’t go because they took offence at something. We need to make a decision not to become offended and to respect our leaders. Praise God for the church and our leaders.

Leave a Reply

