Smoke before fire is only in checkers


Have you ever met someone who has a theological opinion of something so absurd that it hurts your heart? I recently had a discussion with someone who believed whole-heartedly that it was a sin to eat pork. (I’ll give you a hint, if you are reading this it wasn’t you… this person doesn’t have facebook lol) We talked for what seemed like hours. They were bringing up old testament verses and even some obscure quotes by Paul taken out of context. I brought them to where Jesus says in Matthew 15:11 “What goes into a man’s mouth does not make him ‘unclean,’ but what comes out of his mouth, that is what makes him ‘unclean.’

He was speaking to the spiritual leaders of the time. Then he goes on in verse 16 to say 16“Are you still so dull?” Jesus asked them. 17“Don’t you see that whatever enters the mouth goes into the stomach and then out of the body? 18But the things that come out of the mouth come from the heart, and these make a man ‘unclean.’

This woman that I was talking to then continued to argue… but this… but that… I stopped her and told her, “Here is the number one thing we must agree on if we are both Christians, If it’s in red it trumps everything else said.” Like my little on the fly rhyme? It was a cutesy little rhyme, actually quite stupid thinking back. She looked at me like I had a tree growing out of my head. She didn’t get it. We are living in an age where “Christians” don’t know what Christ stood for. His people don’t take the time anymore to study His word. There are countries around the world where people have a page or two of the Bible, owning one in their country is illegal and can result in death. So, they have a couple pages. They memorize the whole page and then trade with someone who has different pages. They memorize and pass. This continues on and on and on. That is what God meant when he said to hide His word in your heart.

I believe there is a soon coming day when these things will take place in America. We will not be permitted to have a Bible, much less go to church. Those who have hidden His Word… especially the red ones, in their heart will be those with the upper hand.

I meet people who don’t understand that the words of Christ are more important than anything else in the word. It pains me. In checkers black goes first. In the Word, red always goes first. Fire before smoke.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Amanda says:

    It is obvious to me that this person might have been raised in a different type of life. Lets just for sake of arguing say that jews think PORK is a no no – So they would think that and if they are going back to the old testament makes me also think that the person teaching them might have been a prior jew since well that is what they teach. SURE i am no idea if this is true or even close but what i am saying is someone has to steer them in the correct way of know the ‘words in red’ – If you didn’t grow up with them meaning anything and she still feels that way then maybe there is more to the covno. Who knows? I dont, but as for no bible, no church, i dont for see this in my life time at least. I sure hope not for my children’s sake either.

    1. Hey Amanda,

      She wasn’t raised Jewish. She was raised a Christian. Unfortunately, this is a result of improper Bible study and listening to the wrong voices. I may have been unclear, she knew what I meant when I said “the red words” she just acted like that wasn’t a good enough result. Its discouraging to find Christians who don’t understand that they are serving Christ. What He says goes.

Leave a Reply

