Would a man rob God?


ROB (rb) 1. Law To take property from (a person) illegally by using or threatening to use violence or force; commit robbery upon.

8 “Will a man rob God? Yet you rob me.
“But you ask, ‘How do we rob you?’
“In tithes and offerings. 9 You are under a curse—the whole nation of you—because you are robbing me. 10 Bring the whole tithe into the storehouse, that there may be food in my house. Test me in this,” says the LORD Almighty, “and see if I will not throw open the floodgates of heaven and pour out so much blessing that you will not have room enough for it. 11 I will prevent pests from devouring your crops, and the vines in your fields will not cast their fruit,” says the LORD Almighty. 12 “Then all the nations will call you blessed, for yours will be a delightful land,” says the LORD Almighty.

Wow, what a scary thought.  Many of us have read this a thousand times.  Probably heard it preached over and over again during our offering times at church.  But how many of us have done the word study?  Our english word rob has lost it’s meaning in our society.  We hardly realize that the true meaning of the word involves words like “threatening”  and “violence” or “force”.  So, it’s no wonder the church doesn’t see the necessity to tithe!  We don’t understand what God is truly saying.

Essentially, what Malachi is saying is that God told him that when we don’t tithe it is akin to us finding God on the street, slamming Him up against the wall, twisting His arm behind His back, with a knife to His throat screaming “Give me Your money!”  Any man who would do that, in my book, is a fool!

Studies indicate that only 11 percent of church-going Christians tithe.  That’s staggering.  That means that 89% of Christians are under a curse.

“You are under a curse—the whole nation of you—because you are robbing me.”

We try all we can to justify tithing or the lack thereof.  “That’s Old Testament” say some, or “God gets all of my time, He doesn’t need my money too.”

Let’s address the first one, Paul writes,

16 Now about the collection for God’s people: Do what I told the Galatian churches to do.  On the first day of every week, each one of you should set aside a sum of money in keeping with his income, saving it up, so that when I come no collections will have to be made.

This shows me that the Old Testament law of tithing was adopted by the early Church as well.  Okay, so he doesn’t say 10%.  He says in keeping with your income.  I highly doubt that a church that taught in the book of Acts to give everything away and share the profits, would even begin to consider giving LESS than 10%.  So you make $100 and you give $10 of it to God.  The whole $100 belongs to Him anyway!  You are lucky He isn’t asking for 100% of it.  In Acts we read,

32All the believers were one in heart and mind. No one claimed that any of his possessions was his own, but they shared everything they had. 33With great power the apostles continued to testify to the resurrection of the Lord Jesus, and much grace was upon them all.34There were no needy persons among them. For from time to time those who owned lands or houses sold them, brought the money from the sales 35and put it at the apostles’ feet, and it was distributed to anyone as he had need.

This is in essence what the Church is trying to do.  We talk about world hunger.  We talk about going out into the world to preach the gospel.  We talk about helping those in need. We talk, we talk, we talk.  How much easier does God have to make it?  He established a house who’s sole purpose is to provide for those in need.  He gave you a home church that already supports missions and orphans and widows.  One who has a benevolence fund for those within the church who are in need.  All these things are already set up, all you need to do is give 10% to the “charity”.  It takes all the leg work out of finding worthy charities.  God is a genius is He not?

Ok, so second point, your time.  God has it all, why does He need your money?

Does Matthew 6:21 read “Where your time is, there your heart will be also”?  No, it reads “For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.”

This is important.  God is telling us that our time is not as important to us as our money.  For, how important is our time if we don’t have money to do anything?  Without money, our time is invaluable.  How many things are there to do with your time if you can’t spend money?  Try taking a road trip without cash.  I’ve done it, it’s boring.  It’s no fun if you can’t stop at the cool, weird tourist stops and buy a local bite to eat.  What good is your time if you can’t go out and enjoy a nice meal with your wife?  Or if you can’t afford to go see a movie or pay for cable or a rental?  God isn’t stupid.  He knows that money is more valuable than time.

Money makes the world go ’round.  Not time.  The love of money is the root of all evil.  Not the love of time.  If time were the most important thing we’d be saying, “God has all my money why does He need my time too?”

If you aren’t tithing then I’m willing to go out on a limb and say that your heart is not fully turned toward God.  If we believe the Word to be fact, then factually you are under a curse.  You are beating up and spitting on Christ every time you spend the sacred tithe.  I can think of very few things that I’d like to hear less in heaven than “You robbed me.  Look at my black eyes, those are from you.”

With Love.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Amanda says:

    I was just thinking of this on Sunday.

  2. Michele says:

    Interesting. I am a tither but I got a good teaching about tithing in which I learned Jesus didn’t really care about the money. It is all about the heart as you said. He will provide, we don’t need to be afraid,that God won’t provide. He provides, also I think it is interesting how we as Americans feel bad for people in poor counties because they don’t have money. Don’t feel bad for them they have love and are happy with their children and their God and their friends. We are actually the poor ones because we are so distacted by money. Give to Ceaser what is Ceaser’s and move on. If we need to stay in one house for a long time instead of moving because of the tithe then that’s the way it has to be. Thanks for the blog. It helps me to stay focussed on God throughout the day.

  3. I’m glad you are finding the blog to your benefit. There’s a tough balance between helping people and annoying people and I’m hoping to find it.

  4. Lauryn says:

    I did it on my own for a long time; it never worked out too well. Then I was out of work for a year. In that year I prayed a lot about finding a job and my overall finances. Now I put God first…

    Things are working out much better. How could I ever do things “better” than God? He has a plan for me, and NOW I trust Him. I cannot control the world… letting go of control is HARD, but it can change your life. It did mine.

    As a newer believer (2 years) I can tell you my life has completely changed. And I am so much happier! I KNOW God has a plan for me; I have no idea what it is yet, but I know He is watching over me and Emily and will take care of us. The world may view me as a poor single mother scraping to get by, but I would consider myself richly blessed!

    And can I tell you how amazing the God moments are? Things just happen in ways you never could have imagined, and you KNOW God is all over it. Reflecting on my God moments gives me such a sense of peace.

    And as I write this Emily is reciting her Bible verse from Sunday… Isaiah 1:17.

Leave a Reply

